A Place For Everything…The Finale!

Tonight we are completing the final part of the Household Binder, the Finance section. Now this is not my area of expertise, but I will try to give you some valuable information that I found. The first thing to do is make a list of every monthly bill you have. I will include a cute Monthly Bill Pay Checklist that is very handy for this job. This is a great way to get a quick look at your monthly expenses. In the first column, there is a space for the day of the month that the bill is due, the type of bill, a check box about whether it is auto-paid through your checking, and then a box to check off when it was paid. You can also add an extra sheet of paper to keep track of “rogue” bills, these are occasional bills like fix-it expenses or random doctor bills. This simple sheet will let you know when to expect a bill to be paid or a payment to be deducted from your checking account. By being able to see what is going in and out of my accounts on paper, let’s me know when I am spending a bit too much and also where I can cut back.

One of the biggest wastes of money each month are finance, atm, and bank fees. These just chip away at your money without as much as a thought. As you can see, I am not a finance guru by any means and I don’t pretend to be one. This is an important section and one that I need to learn a lot more about. But for now, I will pass on some Free Finance Printables that I have found beneficial. In this section you can also keep a Checkbook Register, and a list of account contacts and account numbers (I know there is one in our Contacts Section, but this would be a good location for a second list). If you have a family budget set up or a loan repayment system created, those would also go into this area of the Household Binder. Well, the more I learn about this, the more I will update this blog. So, good luck and here’s to learning a new budgeting skill.

FinanceBinder_MonthlyBills

Budget

2 thoughts on “A Place For Everything…The Finale!

  1. I find that putting together a simple Excel sheet with formulas really helps me calculate my budget on a monthly basis. I can plug in my bills and any other types of expenses I plan to spend in any given month, plug in my monthly pay check and see my total expenses and then how much money I will have left over per paycheck (based on bi-weekly paycheck cycle) and also at the end of the month. Just add all your numbers for expenses in the red fields, add your monthly take home pay in the green field. If you need more fields for expenses just copy and paste and you may need to adjust the formulas for SUM slightly. Click on the link below for a functioning Excel budget formula sheet. Enjoy!

    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/9619273/Budget_2013.xlsx

Leave a Reply

